More about adoption in the news.

“What we say and what we do ultimately comes back to us so let us own our responsibility, place it in our hands, and carry it with dignity and strength”Gloria Anzaldua

For those of you that read this:

Guatemala Pushes for DNA tests of kids adopted in U.S.

http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE5B741820091208

This is another article that will give you some context for the above referenced article:

http://www.startribune.com/local/63909282.html?elr=KArksUUUycaEacyU

In my investigation of adoption, on very real emotional and theoretical levels, I find myself always most  impacted by the  intersections between systemic and institutional practices that do not support ALL  families and/or that contribute towards tearing apart families, and, the individuals that benefit from these practices.  I recognize that  we have to take a look at all aspects of this discussion AND I own my  desire to begin to radically reform these practices and look at solutions that do not include displacing children from their families due to lack of resources.   I believe we must be more critical of the  practices that international adoptions have been routed in and I think we all need to take responsibility for addressing the displacement of so many children.

As an international adoptee, I am working to figure out how to  engage in this work in ongoing and radical ways that come from a place of both compassion and justice.  Are you another international adoptee? I’d love to hear your thoughts about these articles and this subject.

As you can imagine, I have lots more to say about these particular articles but right now I have to go be mama to my own hungry babes.  Hope you are enjoying the blog!

Leave a Reply

