INCITE! Western Mass. reading Group

INCITE! Reading Group. First Tuesdays of the month. 7-9 pm.Food For Thought Books Collective, Amherst. Suggested donation 5.00, absolutely nobody turned away for lack of funds.

Dear To tell you the Truth Community,

As a collaboration between To tell you the Truth and Food For Thought Books Collective, I’ve started a new INCITE! Reading group.  This past Tuesday marked our first meeting time and I wanted to share with you that we had a lovely, inspirational, inter-generational group.  It was a pleasure to learn with the folks who attended and I’m really excited about the process that we’re involved in!  In preparation for our next INCITE! reading group I’m sending out these brief notes about the evening.

It is always touching to share the opportunity to read the words of radical people of color and share our thoughts on liberation and self-determination within a circle of women and gender-non-conforming poc.   Collectively, we read the read the intro of  Color of Violence (the INCITE! Book that we are currently focusing on).  We were all deeply moved by the affirmation that the books introduction offered to us.   We talked about ways that we actively combat imperialism, ways that we build community/ combat the culture of detachment, goals of our reading group (including creating media projects and possibly starting a Western Mass. INCITE! Chapter!).  As you can see, there is a lot to be excited about.   We are excited for other women and gender-non-conforming folks of color to feel welcome to join us, so don’t be shy… come when you can! ❤ !

We agreed that each month we’d discuss a certain section of the book and that each of us would do our best to come having pre-read the section and picked out a piece that we’d like to read aloud and discuss with each other.  In addition, on behalf of To tell you the Truth I’m going to share some media making/testimonio skills with the group.

Here’s the schedule that we think makes the most sense:

August 3, 2010 7-9pm –

Section of the Book: Reconceptualizing Anti-Violence Strategies

Media skill: blogging

September 7, 2010 7-9pm-

Section of the Book: Forms of Violence

Media skill: tbd

October 5, 2010 7-9pm-

Section of the Book: Building Movement

Media skill: tbd

********************************************************************

If you don’t already have the book and are local you can pick it up at Food for Thought Books Collective, you’ll receive 10% off of it if you are a member of the reading group.

Here’s a little info about it:

Color of Violence: The INCITE! Anthology

In the tradition of This Bridge Called My Back, Color of Violence is an urgent, bold, and essential intervention in the war against women of color, their communities, and, ultimately, us all.

INCITE! Women of Color Against Violence, a national organization of radical feminists of color, announces Color of Violence: The INCITE! Anthology, an anthology of critical writings demanding that we address violence against women of color in all its forms, including interpersonal violence, such as sexual and domestic violence, and state violence, such as police brutality, militarism, attacks on immigrants and Indian treaty rights, the proliferation of prisons, economic neo-colonialism, and violence from the medical industry. Color of Violence presents the fierce and vital writing of 33 visionary radical feminists of color. These writers not only investigate the intersecting ways in which violence and oppression exist in the lives of women of color and our communities, they also map innovative strategies of movement building and resistance used by women and trans people of color around the world.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: